Discuss as:

Bachmann adds to South Carolina Tea Party coalition

Columbia, S.C. -- Michele Bachmann announced 19 additional members of her South Carolina Tea Party coalition today, including three who will serve as her regional co-chairs: Steve Rapchick, a 9/12 leader, as Lowcountry chairman; Preston Baines, a former Perry supporter, as Midlands chairman; and Tea Party activist Jonathon Hill as Upstate chairman. In addition to Tea Party supporters announced last week, Bachmann’s Tea Party coalition in the Palmetto State now includes 56 members.

"I once was a strong Perry supporter. Now, as we move closer to the election, I see that Michele Bachmann’s consistent conservative record is what our country needs. We don’t need more Washington-insiders or pretend conservatives like Newt Gingrich,” Baines, of Columbia, says in a release to be sent out tomorrow by the campaign.

The full list of new members:

Steve Rapchick, Mount Pleasant
Preston Baines, Columbia
Jonathon Hill, Anderson
Jeff Diemier, Mount Pleasant
Robert Fry, James Island
Lynda Fry, James Island
Jim Hargett, Greenville
Rick Moesser, Fountain Inn
Scott Napier, Greer
Virginia Jelley, Taylors
Harold Blitch, Charleston
Gerald Addision, Berkley
Linda Addison, Berkley
Raye Chapman, Daniel Island
Tom Russo, Jr., Bluffton
Bob Mcewen, Savannah (former Cain supporter)
Austin Jones, Greenville (former Cain supporter)
Shelia Morgan, Hilton Head
Tom Morgan, Hilton Head