Discuss as:

Republicans fill their six Super Committee slots

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell and House Speaker John Boehner have made their selections to the so-called Super Committee which will be tasked with finding over $1 trillion more in savings in exchange for another raise in the nation's debt ceiling.  The committee was a key part of the budget deal struck by Congress and the president last week.

McConnell named Sens. Jon Kyl (AZ), Pat Toomey (PA) and Rob Portman (OH) while Boehner tapped Reps. Jeb Hensnarling (TX), Dave Camp (MI) and Fred Upton (MI).

They join three Democratic Senators announced yesterday by Majority Leader Harry Reid:  John Kerry (MA), Patty Murray (WA) and Max Baucus (MT).  House Speaker Nancy Pelosi will name the final three members of the committee.

Appearing on MSNBC this morning prior to the GOP announcements, former Sen. Alan Simpson, who co-chaired the commission on fiscal responsibility formed by President Obama last year, voiced concern over the direction of the appointments.  Watch:

On Tuesday, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid made his picks for the bipartisan super committee tasked with finding at least $1.8 trillion in deficit cuts by November. Reid's picks have gotten heat from the RNC chairman as well as from former Sen. Alan Simpson, R-Wyo.