Discuss as:

By the Numbers: Former presidents' political past

From NBC's Kevin Hurd
As potential 2012 candidates gear up for a run on the national stage, each of them will enter the race having served different political offices. Some have been governors, members of Congress, a combination of both, or none of the above.
On this Presidents' Day holiday, we take a look back at the other offices past presidents held before being elected president. From George Washington to Barack Obama, here is the breakdown:
Governor only: 25% (Thomas Jefferson, Grover Cleveland, Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush). Note: Jefferson served in Congress, but it was prior to the adoption of the U.S. Constitution, which created the current system of government in this country.
U.S. House only: 14% (James Madison, Abraham Lincoln, Millard Fillmore, James A. Garfield, Gerald Ford, George H.W. Bush)
U.S. Senate only: 14% (James Monroe, Martin Van Buren, Benjamin Harrison, Warren G. Harding, Harry Truman, Obama)
Both House and Senate: 16% (John Quincy Adams, Andrew Johnson, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard Nixon)
Both Congress and governor: 14% (Andrew Jackson, John Tyler, William Harrison, James Polk, Rutherford B. Hayes, William McKinley)
Neither Congress nor governor: 18% (Washington, John Adams, Zachary Taylor, Ulysses S. Grant, Chester A. Arthur, William Taft, Herbert Hoover, Dwight D. Eisenhower)