Discuss as:

Tax bill clears key hurdle in Senate by wide margin

*** UPDATE *** The Senate cleared the 60-vote threshold to advance the tax compromise bill by a wider-than-expected 83-15 margin. The bill now moves to the House, setting up a potential showdown with Democrats, who have expressed anger over the bill.

Here’s who voted against: Democrats: Bingaman (D-NM), Brown (D-OH), Feingold (D-WI), Gillibrand (D-NY), Hagan (D-NC), Lautenberg (D-NJ), Leahy (D-VT), Levin (D-MI), Sanders (I-VT), Udall (D-CO); Republicans: Coburn (R-OK), DeMint (R-SC), Ensign (R-NV), Sessions (R-AL), Voinovich (R-OH).

Not voting: Merkley (D-OR) and Wyden (D-OR).

Here’s the roll call.

The vote proceeded slowly and was left open for an extended period because of bad weather across the country and some senators had been delayed in getting to the Capitol.

*** UPDATE 2 *** We'll update in the morning with the final tally. (Final tally noted above.)