Discuss as:

Thanking Blue Dogs and twisting arms

From NBC's Mark Murray
Later this afternoon, President Obama hosts a reception at the White House thanking members of Congress for their efforts to pass pay-as-go (PAYGO) legislation -- something congressional Blue Dogs have championed. And as we mentioned earlier this morning, don't be surprised if the president tries to twist some arms on health care.

The White House has released a list of the 31 senators and members of Congress who will be attending. As it turns out, 10 of the House members attending voted against the health-care legislation that passed last year: Jason Altmire (PA), Allan Boyd (FL), Lincoln Davis (TN), Stephanie Herseth-Sandlin (SD), Frank Kratovil (MD), Betsy Markey (CO), Jim Matheson (UT), Scott Murphy (NY), Heath Shuler (NC), and John Tanner (TN).

Sixteen House members attending this afternoon -- including Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Majority Leader Steny Hoyer -- voted for the bill.

And all five senators attending voted for the Senate bill that passed on Christmas Eve, but would probably be needed on a reconciliation vote: Mark Begich (AK), Michael Bennet (CO), Kent Conrad (ND), Claire McCaskill (MO), and Arlen Specter (PA).