Discuss as:

NASCAR at the White House

From NBC's Domenico Montanaro
Race car driver Jimmie Johnson, who last year won his third straight Sprint Cup Series championship, will be honored at the White House this afternoon by the president. He will be joined by 17 other NASCAR drivers.

They are: Carl Edwards, Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Tony Stewart, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kurt Busch, Bobby Labonte, Dale Jarrett, Terry Labonte, Rusty Wallace, Bill Elliott, Darrell Waltrip, Richard Petty and Juan Pablo Montoya.

At First Read, we had a little fun with this in our Week Ahead video.

And the House Republican political arm is taking the opportunity to take a shot at the president:

"While President Obama is meeting with some of NASCAR's greatest drivers, he may come to find out that the only thing he has in common with NASCAR Nation is a shared love for steering hard to the left," said Ken Spain, spokesman for the National Republican Campaign Committee. "The president is currently trading paint with the American taxpayer over his dangerous healthcare takeover, taking needless victory laps celebrating a failed economic stimulus bill, and if he and his fellow Democrats don't start listening to middle class voters, his agenda is going to end up in the wall."

Hardy, har-har.