Discuss as:

New York: We'll take their stimulus $

From NBC's Mark Murray
New York Sens. Chuck Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand say that if GOP Govs. Haley Barbour (Mississippi), Bobby Jindal (Louisiana), and Mark Sanford (South Carolina) don't want portions of their stimulus money, then they'll take it.

"New York receives 78 cents from the federal government for every dollar we send to Washington," the senators wrote President Obama. "If other states are willingly refusing federal support in this time of economic crisis, New York should benefit given our 'donor state' status."

"If any governor -- Democrat or Republican -- leaves stimulus money on the table, then we respectfully request that funds be distributed to New York," they added. "We will put the money to good use, investing in education and new infrastructure, such as health care IT and high speed rail."