Discuss as:

Breaking down the Senate vote

From NBC's Ken Strickland
Here's a snapshot of how election politics may have affected voting on today's Senate immigration bill. Because the vote was procedural in nature, simply to end debate and proceed to a final vote, the "yes" votes don't necessarily mean senators would have voted "yes" for the final bill. This is especially significant because had the debate continued, there would have been more votes on amendments that could have gutted core elements of the bill.

But those voting "no" will be considered responsible -- at least in political circles -- for killing the bill. Majority Leader Harry Reid made it clear that if the vote failed, he'd pull the immigration measure from the floor.

The Presidential candidates: All of the Democratic candidates voted YES. McCain, who was part of the bipartisan coalition that crafted and supported the bill, also voted YES.  Brownback's initial vote was YES, but later, probably when the outcome was clear, switched to NO.

Senators up for reelection in 2008: On the Democratic side, all the blue state senators voted YES (Biden, Durbin, Kerry, Lautenberg, Levin, Reed). But those Democrats running in red or purples states voted NO (Baucus, Harkin, Landrieu, Pryor, Rockefeller).

Most of the Republican senators up for re-election this cycle voted NO (Alexander, Allard, Chambliss, Cochran, Coleman, Collins, Cornyn, Dole, Domenici, Enzi, Inhofe, McConnell, Roberts, Sessions, Smith, Stevens, Sununu, Warner). The exceptions, with YES votes, were Craig, Hagel, and Graham (who is one of the original and most vocal coalition members that wrote the bill).

Senate Leadership: The Republican leadership was split. GOP Leader McConnell, who's also up for re-election, voted NO. (He had voted YES on another procedural vote earlier this week.)  McConnell was joined by Texas Sens. Hutchison and Cornyn, as well as Ensign, who's responsible for running the GOP senate campaigns this cycle. Lott and Kyl split with the leadership and voted YES.

All the members of the Democratic Leadership stuck together with YES votes: Reid, Durbin, Murray, and Schumer. 

Presidential candidates
Democrats voting YES:  (all of them) Clinton, Obama, Biden, Dodd
Republicans voting YES:  McCain
Republican voting NO:  Brownback (originally "yes" but switched)

Senators up for reelection in 2008
Democrats voting Yes:
Biden, Durbin, Kerry, Lautenberg, Levin, Reed
Democrats voting NO:
Baucus, Harkin, Landrieu, Pryor, Rockefeller
Republicans voting YES:
Craig, Graham, and Hagel
Republicans voting NO:
Alexander, Allard, Chambliss, Cochran, Colman, Collins, Cornyn, Dole, Domenici, Enzi, Inhofe, McConnell, Roberts, Sessions, Smith, Stevens, Sununu, Warner

Party Switchers
Democrats voting NO:
Baucus, Bayh, Bingaman, Brown, Byrd, Dorgan, Harkin, Landrieu, McCaskill, Pryor, Rockefeller, Sanders, Stabenow, Tester, and Webb.

Republicans voting YES:
Bennett, Craig, Graham, Gregg, Hagel, Kyl, Lott, Lugar, Martinez, McCain, Snowe, and Specter.