Discuss as:

Senate Iraq measure defeated

From NBC's Ken Strickland
The vote on the Senate Democratic resolution setting the "goal" of getting most troops out of Iraq by March of 2008 was defeated, 48-50. Sixty votes were needed for passage under the agreement reached by the Senate leadership.

The vote was pretty much along party lines, except for:
-- Oregon Sen. Gordon Smith (R), who voted with the Democrats;
-- Nebraska Sen. Ben Nelson (D) and Arkansas Sen. Mark Pryor (D), who voted with the Republicans;
-- and Sen. Joe Lieberman (I), who voted with the Republicans.